BarberShop--001 Change is not something that many folks handle very well and I am no exception as I like somewhat of a routine and when I get comfortable with something or someone it can be very difficult for me to change.

I have lived in my community now for nearly 38 years and for most of 33, maybe 34 of them I have had the same barber(s) to cut my hair and chat about life.

For over half of my life I had the honor of spending time every few months with Ron or Norma at ‘Family Barber’.  Time where I could not only get a haircut from Ron, including a trimming of my constantly bushy eyebrows, but I could also count on a conversation about kids, grandkids, jobs, local happenings, life and yes occasionally even politics.  And when it was hair cutting with Norma, we always could peacefully talk about the football programs at my Nebraska or her Oklahoma.

It was where I took my son for haircuts and he began to take his sons, my grandsons.

Family Barber had the real life look of a Norman Rockwell view of America, where everybody seemed to know your name and while waiting to get a haircut, or even while getting one, you could find yourself in a conversation with others in the shop about life, community and themselves.

It was the kind of place that made the rest of the world just slip away for a little bit and you could get the feeling of the ultimate peace in life with relaxation and friends.

But then a couple of years back, the combination of Norma semi-retiring, Ron having a stroke, my own health and my daughter living back in the community – things began to change and they seemed to change in a hurry.  Suddenly I was put in a position where my regular haircut time was having to change as Norma and Ron were about done and after some health issues, getting something as simple as a haircut was almost too much for my budget.

Lucky for me, my daughter offered to cut my hair and that she did for nearly four years.  While she would not touch my eyebrows, she did a good enough job to keep the wife happy and we all know that when the wife is happy, life is happy.

But then my daughter’s husband took a job out of state and what seemed like a blink of the eyes, my daughter, son-in-law and four grandkids were gone and while I joked about letting my hair grow out to ponytail length (something I had not had since my early twenties), we all knew that would not last long.

Since I had only tried one other barber in nearly 37 years I realized this would be a challenge.  One upstart popular barbershop, the one my son-in-law and grandson went to, seemed like a logical choice except that when I tried to call and get an appointment I got no answer.  After three attempts, I realized maybe I should move on.

So, move on I did, moved on to the young man who bought the old Family Barber, the young man who was son number four of a family friend, the young man who had really no clue who I was, the young man that changed everything about the old Family Barber shop.

But I made my appointment, went in and by gosh the young man can cut a solid haircut.  He even used the razor around the edges and trimmed my always bushy eyebrows without having to be asked.  And I found myself feeling good, feeling like maybe I could make this young man my barber of choice – yes, I think I could.

And did I mention the work the young man did with ‘my’ old family barber shop, he turned it into a stylish mix of modern and old.  Finding and leaving much of the old brick was awesome, it is looking good. Plus, along the front of the shop, above the front door, this young man hung the old ‘Family Barber’ sign and added several pictures and leftovers from the old shop as a nice touch, especially for those of us old timers returning to the old shop with the young gun.

So, while change is not always easy for me, I have found that this change should work – besides it’s just a haircut.

And there you have it, ‘Grumpy Gramps’ spewing in response to something he may have seen and liked or disliked, and either way had the feeling that he needed to get his response ‘off my chest’.  So maybe you can enjoy, enlighten and think about what he may have said.  And if you want, feel free to respond with a comment or two on his blog and ‘Grumpy Gramps’ promises to give you some type of response.  Word of caution, ‘Grumpy Gramps’ has a line that shall not be crossed regarding name calling, racism, hatred or threats and more – and if that line gets crossed, well you’ll see at that point.

As for those wondering about why I call this ‘Grumpy Gramps’, it’s because I have been around the walk of life for a long while now and for those who know me, I have my thoughts and opinions which seem to spew out on occasion much to the chagrin of my wife and a few of my grandkids.  When that happens, the grandkids look at me with squinted eyes and say, ‘being grumpy, gramps’.

To read more ‘Grumpy Gramps’ or ‘News to Know’ bookmark crossdovewriter.wordpress.com and follow the ramblings and insights from the center of the world….

Prayers, blessings and happy thoughts – ‘Grumpy Gramps’.

(Copyright@2017, CrossDove Writer – no part of this may be printed, copied or used without written permission.)

