0714162031a  ‘Grumpy Gramps’ comes from having been around the walks of life now for a good long time and those who know me, know that I have my thoughts and opinions which seem to spew out on occasion, much to the chagrin of my wife and a few of my grandkids.  When it does happen the grandkids sometimes say oh Gramps is getting grumpy – so the name ‘Grumpy Gramps’.

So now that you understand why these writes are called ‘Grumpy Gramps’ even though they will not all be grumpy, I’m am giving you fair warning that some may come off as such.

How many of us have contempt for something or someone?  How many of us have contempt, but refer to it as something entirely different?

After looking over several definitions of the word ‘contempt’, I feel I can pretty much sum it up with this – ‘the feeling with which a person regards anything as mean; feeling disdain for something or someone; the state of being despised; willful disobedience or open disrespect for the rules or orders’.

Having contempt for something or someone many times does not necessarily end up very positive for either side of the equation.

While most times, having contempt is truly not necessary, most times it comes from being or feeling disrespected or mistreated.

For instance, right now I am fully aware that I have a bucket full of contempt over several situations, four in which I am struggling with currently.  Three of those situations are likely too personal to discuss here, at least for now – but the fourth one is a situation that has brought contempt to the forefront of our nation as we move forward with a new president and their administration.

Many a time contempt is a companion to hypocrisy, a word of thought for which I will discuss at another time.

The reason for my ‘contempt’ at least for the moment most likely comes from the contempt I see coming from our new president and his pied pipers.  I never have and most likely never will trust people who wear a smug look on their face just before they twist and turn information to make themselves sound like a savior when inside they plan to simply walk around and over anybody that gets in their way.

My contempt builds as I hear things like a so called ‘press briefing’ that turned out to be nothing but an attempt to hide the truth and make themselves look much more popular and favored than they are, while making bully type references to the press as a whole – and you got it, as a member of the press I felt the contempt for facts being cannonballed by a press secretary.  And yep, you got it, I did not take it to kindly.

You want my contempt to slow down or disappear, then begin to show my country, our country, the respect it deserves – the respect each and every citizen deserves.

You want my contempt to slow down or disappear, then begin to wipe that smug look you carry around and stop saying or twittering things that step on others just because they may disagree with you or maybe show the glitches in that armor of narcissism you carry 24/7.

You want my contempt to slow down or disappear, then put some big boy pants on and take the snowballs of criticism coming your way like the previous President did toward all the misconstrued falsehoods you and your pals threw at him.

So, the battle begins as contempt has been brought to the forefront of our country and now all can see that being contemptuous is okay for some, but not for others.

I will leave you with this question – what situation, people or places in your life do you feel contempt for and is that contempt about truth, faith or blind, misconstrued facts?

There you have it, another ‘Grumpy Gramps’ and while many may be spewing about things they don’t like or see has being wrong – many times it will be just ‘getting it off my chest’ type of sharing.  So please enjoy, think about it and if you feel the need or want – send me a comment or two and ‘Grumpy Gramps’ promises to get back to you.  But make your responses civil, as ‘Grumpy Gramps’ will not put up with name calling, racism, hatred, etc.

(Copyright@2017, CrossDove Writer – no part of this may be printed, copied or used without written permission.)

